Throughout the nursery we work towards the government guidelines detailed in the Early Years Foundation Stage, which covers children from the age 0-5 years.

The EYFS states every child deserves the best possible start in life and support to fulfil their potential. A Childs experience in early years has a major impact on their future life chances. A secure and happy childhood is important in its own right, and it provides the foundation for children to make the most of their abilities and talents as they grow up. We understand when parents choose to use an early year’s service they want to know that the provision will keep their children safe and help them thrive. The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is the framework that helps to provide this assurance.

The EYFS is divided into four themes:

Unique Child

Recognises that every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured. The commitments are focused around development; inclusion; safety; and health well-being.

Positive Child

Describes how a child learns to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents/or a key person. The commitments are focused around respect, partnership with parents; supporting learning; and the role of the key person.

Enabling Environments

Explains that the environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children’s development and learning. The commitments are focused around observation, assessment and planning; support for every child; the learning environment; and the wider context- transitions. Continuity and multi-agency working.

Learning and Development

Recognises that the children develop and learn in different ways and different rates, and that all areas of learning and development are equally important and inter-connected.
The framework covers the education and care of all children in early year’s provisions, including children with special educational needs and disabilities.

Our nursery practitioner’s teach children by ensuring playful and challenging opportunities across the ‘Prime areas’ and ‘Specific areas’ of learning and development.

Prime areas:

  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Physical development
  • Communication and Language

Specific areas:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design
To Top